The moth and the person.

Hey, friends! This is a longer one, but I think the Lord wanted to use this to encourage someone today.
“The Lord watches over you— the Lord is your shade at your right hand; the sun will not harm you by day, nor the moon by night. The Lord will keep you from all harm— he will watch over your life; the Lord will watch over your coming and going both now and forevermore.” Psalm‬ ‭121‬:‭5-8‬.
So, after the time that I spent at a Focus on the Heart session last night with a few ladies from a pregnancy care center, I was really emotional. God grabbed my attention in a way where I was reminded, once again, that he never leaves us and though everything else changes, he never will. God’s always working for our good. Jesus’ love crazily overflowed from the women there, the stories, and I just lost it. 
I left after sitting in my car for a little and as I drove I just kept crying. Nothing happened while I cried. I made it to a gas station and decided that I had to stop, process, and calm down again. So, I sat there and thought for a little bit and then, a moth came into my car. I kept swatting at it with random objects and literally encouraging it with words out-loud, while swatting at it, to fly out the window. But it didn’t budge. It just kept flying its wings like it was mad (it wouldn’t surprise me if it were mad at this point), going up a little, freaking me out by getting closer, and then back into the corner in between my windshield and passenger side door. It did what it wanted. So, I let it be and I had the thought that it would eventually fly out. 
When I decided to drive home from the gas station, it stayed in the corner and didn’t move much from what I could tell. I had my windows down all the way home from the gas station too. But, as soon as I stopped the car and turned my lights off in my driveway, I looked over and it flew out the window. Without me. Without me trying to encourage it or make it move. 
Sometimes people are like this moth. Stubborn. Lonely. Curious. But, like this moth, people ultimately have to make their own decisions. We can stay in our own corner with comfort and safety, go up a little and then go back to where we were, even try to fly. Or, we can totally, without boundaries, spread our wings and fly out of our metaphorical window. Regardless of other people, we still have choice. We can’t make someone have a relationship with Jesus, just like I couldn’t make the moth go out the window, but God surely does the heart work. This moth made a bunch of metaphors last night. Haha. 
Have a great day 🙂

Leave a Reply

