The Lord of Patience

“But, God being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, even while we were in sin, made us alive together with Jesus!” Ephesians 2:4-5. I’m living proof when I say this, God is SO beautiful when displaying His unusual patience. My God is the Lord of patience. It’s weird when you have to remove yourself, sometimes without much of a choice, from a certain situation to see something differently or even clearly. But, through that removal, God can restore you. Through distancing ourselves purposely from a habit or a person that we know isn’t okay for us, we realize that we’re made for more. For me through that kind of removal, it has been a continual realization more deeply that as individuals we’re created for God’s glory and not our own. Being created for God’s glory isn’t simple, but what it means is simple. God isn’t confusing. God’s glory is something that will last forever, unlike my own glory. I can certainly want something but it may not be the best thing for me. I’m realizing that’s probably why God’s so patient toward us. We don’t always remember that or keep that in our heart as being something important. We don’t really want to glorify God all the time, let’s be honest. I have stories about crap too where God has protected me undeservingly and I probably shouldn’t be here or writing this. I know that I personally don’t deserve to even write or talk about Jesus and get to. I know that some people couldn’t care less. But, I just get to be living proof of a lot of sin and a whole bunch more grace. It’s worth sharing and talking about. It’s what I want my life to be about. God’s rich mercy. His great love. His grace. His glory.

Leave a Reply

