So Close.

I got to listen to a sermon this morning called “So Close You Miss It” from Joel Delph. In the sermon and from what I took away from it, he talked about how God so overwhelmingly gives us what we need and more and it’s just crazy. Blessings. A thought that has been reoccurring to me, a part from this sermon, personally is that a holy and perfect God wants people… SO undeserving of being in his presence to actually KNOW him. I know that I flat out suck sometimes. But the Jesus is the author and perfecter of my faith… He’s working through the suck and crap and making me more like Himself, even in what I struggle with most. But, to actually see what’s in front of us, who we are and what we have, we need to step back. Do we actually see people for who they are and not what they have or don’t have? Do we recognize hurt and pain in other people? Hurt people, simply hurt other people. Are you hurting someone unintentionally? …When’s the last time you prayed for water? So many people don’t have clean water and pray for it almost daily. But me, I can just walk to my kitchen, in my apartment, and have clean water. I’m not bragging. I’m making a point that I don’t pray enough. I don’t pray enough for others and what they need. I don’t pray enough and look for ways to help others daily. But, what I have to recognize also is this: It’s not about us, it’s not about me. God does the heart work, God provides. To recognize that though, takes humility. And, humility can also hit and knock us to the ground. Sometimes, out cold. It can make us almost numb because it can hurt so badly. Pride comes before the fall. It’s better to recognize the pride and ask God to help rather than God just doing something to let pride take its course in your life. As crappy as Marion, Ohio can seem at times, I don’t really deserve to be here. I didn’t even get myself here. The Lord did. The King and Creator of heaven and earth did. The God who wants my heart and all of my love and worship brought me here. Just like he did YOU, where you are. 1 Chronicles 29:11-13 says “Yours, O Lord, is the greatness and the power and the glory and the victory and the majesty, for all that is in the heavens and in the earth is yours. Yours is the kingdom, O Lord, and you are exalted as head above all. Both riches and honor come from you, and you rule over all. In your hand are power and might, and in your hand it is to make great and give strength to all. And now we thank you, our God, and praise your glorious name.” Have a great day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

